2021 Spring Bursary Recipients

Anne-Marie DeWeert, Saskatoon – Anne-Marie completed CNA Certification in Perioperative Nursing

Philip McGee, Battleford – Philip completed CNA Certification in Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing

Nicole Collins, Regina – Professional Development Conference. Nicole attended a Neonatal Resuscitation Provider course to assist her in delivering neonates in an emergency situation while working at Assiniboia Union Hospital. .
Aubrey Tollefson, Mossbank – Masters. Aubrey is enrolled in the Master of Nursing – Family Nurse Practitioner program at the College of Nursing, University of Saskatchewan. Aubrey’s goal is to “provide high quality primary care to the people of my community and surrounding area”. During her course work, she completed a workplace quality improvement initiative which provided the opportunity to research nurse practitioner impact on rural emergency department care. This research showed improved adherence to evidence based guidelines, improved patient access to a provider, and improved patient satisfaction with the introduction of a nurse practitioner to rural emergency departments. Aubrey is the recipient of the Saskatoon City Hospital Nurses Alumnae Bursary.
Glen-Mary Christopher, Swift Current – Masters. Glen-Mary is enrolled in the Collaborative Nurse Practitioner Program jointly offered by the University of Regina and Saskatchewan Polytechnic. Glen-Mary has “spent 12 years advocating for better access to resources and care for people living with pain in Saskatchewan and being an NP makes [her] a direct part of the solution”. Glen-Mary is the recipient of the SRNA Nurse Practitioner Award.
Sue-Ellen White, Martensville – Masters. Sue-Ellen is enrolled in the Master of Education program at Thompson Rivers University. Her thesis is evaluating the effectiveness of using a virtual platform for evaluation in determining the safety and knowledge level of undergraduate nursing student’s assessment skills. Sue-Ellen believes that “by making learning interactive and bringing out the individuality of students, we can help each other to become more successful and reach our goals” and that the importance of educator innovation, flexibility and creativity was revealed by the emergence of COVID-19. Sue-Ellen is the recipient of the Elizabeth Bassendowski Award.
Kathy Disiewich, Saskatoon – Doctoral. Kathy is enrolled in the Educational Doctorate in Educational Leadership in the Department of Educational Leadership, University of Saskatchewan. Kathy is interested in growing her skills to become an effective nursing leader. She wants to formally and informally mentor the next generation of nurse leaders in Saskatchewan. Kathy is the recipient of the Leeseberg Stamler Bursary.